Kogi Guber: Anxiety In Kogi Over APC Delegates’ List

There is tension among the governorship aspirants of the ruling APC in Kogi State over a purported plot to doctor the delegates’ list ahead of the primary election where the standard bearer will emerge.

Sources told Newsflash247 on Tuesday that the-power-that-be in the Confluence State was no longer comfortable with the list submitted to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

One of the sources said the list, which comprised delegates from 239 wards and 21 local government areas, might be doctored to include the names of those who would support the aspiration of the preferred aspirant.

Though 12 out of the 16 governorship aspirants on the APC platform had been screened out by a six-member screening committee headed by Senator Hope Uzodimma.

Newsflash247 gathered that more aspirants had been cleared by an appeal committee.

A meeting of the APC National Working Committee (NWC) was held yesterday to consider a report of the appeal committee which was said to have finally cleared a former Chief of Naval Staff, Usman Jibrin and Yakubu Mohammed among others.

The two aspirants together with Prof. Mohammed Seidu Onailu, Mustapha Mona Audu, Hadiza Iyoma Ibrahim, Yahaya Odidi Audu, Sani Lulu Abdullahi, Gen. Patrick Adenu Akpa, Engr. Danlami Umar Mohammed, Babatunde Ayo Kunle Irukera, Rukkaya Ibrahim and Mohammed Abubakar Audu were earlier disqualified by the Senator Uzodimma -led screening committee.

The committee cleared only four aspirants, including incumbent Governor Yahaya Bello, Mrs Ekele Blessing, Engr. Abubakar Bashir and Hassan Abdullahi.

On Tuesday night, the National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has deliberated on the reports of the screening and appeal committees for the Party’s Kogi Governorship aspirants.

After a comprehensive review of the submissions by the two committees, relying on the party’s guidelines and the provisions of the Electoral Act, nine (9) aspirants were finally cleared.

Seven other aspirants did not meet the requirements for participation in the exercise.

NWC Decisions:


1. Yahaya Bello
2. Hadiza Iyoma Ibrahim
3. Yahaya Odidi Audu
4. Sani Lulu Abdullahi
5. Engr. Abubakar Bashir
6. Engr. Danlami Umar Mohammed
7. Yakubu Mohammed
8. Hassan Abdullahi
9. Ekele Aishat Blessing

•Not Cleared

1. Prof. Mohammed Seidu Onaili
2. Usman Oyibe Jibrin
3. Mustapha Mona Audu
4. Rukkaya Ibrahim
5. Gen. Patrick Adenu Akpa
6. Babatunde Ayo Kunle Irukera
7. Muhammed Abubakar Unukwu Audu

Meanwhile, the governorship primary election had been scheduled for tomorrow, while the outcome of the exercise could be challenged or appealed against by Monday, September 2.

(Visited 302 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Leave a Reply

forty nine + = 53

Privacy Policy |About Us | Terms|Disclaimer |Advertise | Contact Us