Local News

Imo Speaker, majority leader, 6 Assembly members dumps PDP to APC

Imo State House of Assembly Speaker, Collins Chiji, and seven lawmakers on Tuesday, January 28, have reportedly defected to the All Progressives Congress, APC, from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Newsflash247 online news portal gathered that the majority of the House, Chigozie Nwaneri were among seven lawmakers, who equally joined the ruling APC from the PDP.

Their defection brings the number of the APC lawmakers to 18 out of the 26.

Newsflash247 online news portal gathered that, Uju Onwudiwe of the Action Alliance, Njaba constituency, who was returned elected during the last Saturday’s supplementary election, was yet to be inaugurated by the speaker.

The speaker announced his defection and that of his seven other colleagues during a plenary on Tuesday.

The plenary which lasted for 15 minutes came to an end after the speaker announced the names of the defected lawmakers.

Apart from the speaker, Uche Ogbuagu(Ikeduru), Dominic Ezerioha ( Oru west) Chigozie Nwaneri(Oru East), Kanayo Onyemaechi(Owerri west), Kennedy Ibe( Obowo) Onyemaechi Njoku( Ihitte /Uboma) and Eddy Obinna( Aboh Mbaise) equally defected.

Obinna represents Emeka Ihedioha who was sacked as the governor of the state by the supreme court on January 14.

Newsflash247 online news portal

(Visited 573 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Agency Reporter

Newsflash247 Online Newspaper is a Nigerian online newspaper founded and published in Nigeria. The online newspaper started in May 2017.Website: https://newsflash247.com.ng.e-mail: [email protected] Cell Number: 08053316946.Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/newsflash2471/Twitter Page: https://www.twitter.com/newsflash2471/

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

÷ two = one

Back to top button