Osun PDP Guber Primary: Seven Aspirants Withdraw From Governorship Race

At least seven governorship aspirants of the People Democratic Party in Osun State have withdrawn from the primary election of the party going on in Osgbo, the state capital.

Those that stepped down from the race before commencement of the primary at the GMT Event Centre are former Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Hon. Adejare Bello; a lawyer, Dr. Ayoade Adewopo; a university don, Prof. Adeolu Durotoye; former chairman, Irewole Local Government Area of Osun a State, Chief Lere Oyewumi; former chairman, Federal Road Maintenance Agency, Engr. Jide Adeniji; former Minister of Youths Development, Senator Olasunkanmi Akinlabi; and former Senator representing Osun Central in the Senate, Chief Ogunwale.

But Senator Ademola Adeleke, Dr. Akin Ogunbiyi, Barr. Nathaniel Oke and Alhaji Fatai Akinbade, still remain in the race.

READ ALSOOsun APC Guber Primary: Tinubu’s Cousin, Oyetola Wins Osun APC Governorship Ticket

The governor of Bayelsa State, Sierake Dickson, is the chairman of the party’s electoral panel conducting the primary where over three thousand delegates would be voting to elect the party’s candidate.

Unlike the All Progressives Congress that used  direct primary on Thursday to pick its flag bearer, the  PDP is using delegate method to elect the party’s candidate

(Visited 162 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Agency Reporter

Newsflash247 Online Newspaper is a Nigerian online newspaper founded and published in Nigeria. The online newspaper started in May 2017.Website: [email protected] Cell Number: 08053316946.Facebook page: Page:

Related Articles


  1. Pingback: Be Ready To Account For Ekiti Funds - Fayemi Tells Fayose | Newsflash247
  2. Pingback: Osun PDP Guber primary: Voting suspended over allegation of unaccredited delegates | Newsflash247

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × one =

Back to top button