Local News

List Of APC Governors To Remove Oshiomhole As Chairman

The Governors under the platform of the All Progressives Congress, APC that pushed for former Zamfara State governor, Alhaji Abdulaziz Yari as the replacement of Adams Oshiomhole.

Recall that President Muhammadu Buhari has intervened the crisis between the APC governors and the party chairman, Adams Oshiomhole but the governors have returned to the trenches in their bid to unseat the National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, zeroing in on the former governor of Zamfara State, Alhaji Abdulaziz Yari, as his replacement.

Newsflash247 gathered that about 10 of the party’s 17 governors have resolved to deepen their push against the national chairman, who has been under intense pressure to stand down over sundry accusations, including his style of leadership, which his traducers claim has left the APC more divided than ever.

Recall that the governors had forced Oshiomhole to summon the meeting of the National Executive Committee three weeks ago, having not been held since August last year contrary to the provision of the party’s constitution, which mandates a quarterly meeting.

Preceding the NEC meeting was the National Caucus, where the president was said to have provided the national chairman with a lifeline, requesting all the combatants to sheath their swords and recommended that a reconciliation committee be set up to douse the raging inferno he warned could consume the party.

But at the NEC meeting, Oshiomhole’s opponents still drew blood. He was, however, saved by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr. Boss Mustapha, who called the attention of the meeting to Buhari’s proposal for reconciliation and pleaded that the process be allowed to run its course.

The president’s thinking, according to sources at the meetings, was that the national chairman should be given another chance to retrace his steps by reconciling with aggrieved leading members, including in the party’s National Vice Chairman (North-west), Alhaji Inuwa Abdulkadir, who had been suspended by his Sokoto State branch; Governors Rotimi Akeredolu and Godwin Obaseki as well as former governors Rochas Okorocha and Ibikunle Amosun.

Buhari was also said to believe that fences could still be mended between Oshiomhole and his Edo State Governor, Obaseki.

But weeks after the lifeline NEC meeting, the president has been slow in setting up the reconciliation committee, a development, gathered, has displeased the national chairman’s traducers, who have now returned to the trenches.

The list of governors who want Oshiomhole out are:

(1) Alhaji Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State;

(2) Godwin Obaseki of Edo State,

(3) Dr. Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State,

(4) Malam Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna State,

(5) Alhaji Ibrahim Badaru of Jigawa State,

(6) Mai Mala Buni of Yobe State,

(7) Alhaji Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe State,

(8) Alhaji Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State,

(9) Alhaji Abdulrahman Abdulrazak of Kwara State,

(10) Mr. Simon Lalong of Plateau State.

Those governors behind Oshiomhole are Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Gboyega Oyetola (Osun) and Babagana Zulum (Borno).

Those on the fence, preaching peace, are:

(1) Alhaji Bello Masari of Katsina State

(2) Alhaji Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano State

(3) and Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State.


(Visited 6,024 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Victor Akande

Victor Akande, a blogger by profession for the past 7 years. He studied Mathematics at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka Contact: +2348053316946 Twitter: @Newsflash2471

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× seven = twenty eight

Back to top button