Kano rerun: Yako floors controversial Jubrin in Reps rerun

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC has declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP), Alhaji Aliyu Datti Yako winner of the Kiru/Bebeji Federal Constituency rerun election in Kano state.

Yako, defeated the controversial former chairman on appropriation and proponent of “Budget Padding” Abdulmumuni Jibrin Kofa of the All Progressive Congress, (APC).

Yako, who was a former commissioner of Local Government, during the former governor of Senator Ibrahim Shakarau, polled 48,601 votes to beat Kofa, who got 13,587 votes.

Announcing the result of the rerun election, the returning officer of Kiri/Bebeji Federal Constituency, Professor Abdullahi Arabic, on Sunday, said, ” Aliyu Datti Yako, defeated 18 other candidates of various political parties to emerge winner.

Prof. Arabic said that, “Aliyu Datti Yako of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP), having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”

However, at the time of filing in this report, the result of that of Tudun Wada/Doguwa federal constituency is still been awaited.

(Visited 724 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Abdullahi Hammed

Abdullahi Hammed was born in Kano State, Nigeria. A journalist by profession for the past five years. He Studied Mass Communication at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State. Contact: [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four × 8 =

Back to top button