Ekiti LG Election: Thugs on rampage, attack PDP councillor candidate in Polling unit

The Ekiti State Independent Electoral Commission, on Saturday, conducted local government election in the state

The main opposition party in the state, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP contested against the candidates of the ruling All Progressives Congress in some of the wards.

The election was marred by violence at some polling units in Ifaki Ekiti in Ido Osi local government where the candidates of the PDP was attacked by APC thugs who gave those of the ruling APC a serious contest.

Newsflash247 gathered that Kayode Babalola, the Councillor Candidate of PDP, in Ifaki Ward 2 was attacked at his polling unit.

The presence of policemen and other security operatives in the town prevented the situation from degenerating.

The Chairman of Ekiti State Independent Electoral Commission, Justice Jide Aladejana, on Friday said the body was ready to conduct a free, fair and transparent election today.

Aladejana, who stated that all was set for the elections across the 16 council areas of the state, said 14 political parties expressed interest in the election.

He said, “We have 14 political parties on the ballot. But only four of the parties, including the All Progressives Congress and Peoples Democratic Party presented candidates.”

The SIEC boss, who spoke in Ado-Ekiti, the state capital, during the distribution of election materials to electoral officers across the 16 council areas of the state, said, “The political parties are ready. We are ready for the election.

“We have made necessary arrangements and we expect that Ekiti people will come out in their numbers to vote. I am optimistic that this election will be peaceful and be a huge success, I can assure you that.

“The election of Saturday will be free, fair and credible. Party supporters should allow peace. All the sensitive materials will be distributed before all the leaders of the participating parties. We are going to be credible and upright.”

Aladejana said materials would be ready at the polling units as scheduled, while voting would take place between 8 am and 2 pm before collation of election results across the 2,195 units.


(Visited 1,296 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Victor Akande

Victor Akande, a blogger by profession for the past 7 years. He studied Mathematics at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka Contact: +2348053316946 Twitter: @Newsflash2471

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

six + 2 =

Back to top button