Ebonyi Assembly

Ebonyi Assembly Elects New Speaker, Refuses To Inaugurate 2 Elected Members

The Ebonyi State House of Assembly on Monday elected a new Speaker, Hon. Ogbonnaya Nwifuru representing Izzi West State constituency to pilot the affairs of the House for the next four years in the state.

Whereas one Hon. Obasi Odefa representing Onicha West State constituency was elected as the Deputy Speaker.

The Speaker while addressing the elected members at the floor of the House revealed his readiness to pilot the affairs of the House with obedience to the rule of law.

He avowed to ensuring speedy passage of any bill that will be forward to them by the governor, David Umahi.

Meanwhile, the House refused to inaugurate two elected members; Victor Aleke elected to represent Ebonyi Northwest and Chinedu Awo from Ohaukwu North state constituency for failure to submit certificate of return and code of conduct form to the clerk of the House.

Also, elected include; one Victor Chukwu representing Ezza North state constituency as the majority leader of the house.

Others include; Humphrey Nwuruku representing Ikwo North state constituency as chief Whip while Benjamin Ezeoma representing Ebonyi Northeast as deputy whip.

It was gathered that the principal officers of the house were nominated by the state Governor, Chief David Umahi, the leader of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP in the State.

(Visited 88 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Leave a Reply

÷ 3 = three

Contact Us| Privacy Policy |About Us | Terms|Disclaimer |Advertise