BREAKING: Senate swears in Olujimi as senator after court sacks Senate spokesman

The Senate President, Ahmed Lawan on Thursday swore in Abiodun Olujimi representing Ekiti South after the Independent National Electoral Commission issued her certificate of return.

The Court of Appeal in Kaduna had affirmed the judgment of the election petitions tribunal declaring Abiodun Olujimi, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), winner of the 2019 national assembly election in Ekiti State.

The court also nullified the victory of Dayo Adeyeye, the former spokesperson for the Senate.

The President of the senate Ahmad Lawan congratulated the newly sworn senator who was the former minority leader in the eighth Senate.

“With this, we now have eight very solid female senators,” Lawan said. “We pray that this addition will bring additional productivity and stability to the senate.

“I will call for unity, of course we should remain focused and do only those things that will make our country great.”

The other women senators in the senate are Stella Odua (PDP Anambra North), Rose Oko (PDP Cross Rivers North), Oluremi Tinubu, (APC Lagos Central) and Aishatu Dahiru (APC Adamawa Central).

Others are, Uche Ekwunife (PDP Anambra Central), Betty Apiaffi (PDP Rivers Central) and Akon Eyakemi (PDP Akwai Ibom South)

Newsflash247 had earlier reported that Appeal Court sitting in Kaduna, Kaduna State on Wednesday, November 6, 2019 declared Senator Biodun Olujimi of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP senatorial candidate as the winner of the February 23 senatorial poll.

Newsflash247 reports that the embattled senator, Prince Dayo Adeyeye who was the candidate of All Progressives Congress, APC, in the February 23 senatorial poll had filed an appeal before the court following September 10 judgement of the election petition tribunal, which sacked him from the office.

Adeyeye filed 19 ground appeals against the September 10, 2019 judgment of an election petitions tribunal which declared former minority leader , Biodun Olujimi as the Ekiti South senatorial winner.

The 19-ground appeals were filed by Adeyeye to challenge the verdict of the Ekiti State National Assembly Election Tribunal delivered on September 10.

The three-member panel of the Tribunal led by Justice Danladi Adeck, in a judgment delivered on 10th September, 2019, ordered INEC to withdraw the Certificate of Return given to Adeyeye and issue a fresh one to Olujimi.

The panel upheld Olujimi’s averments that there was no proper accreditation, there was no proper account of ballots and that the number of votes or ballots recorded is more or less than the number of accredited voters, among others.

After the Tribunal deducted votes from what the two parties scored at the election, PDP was left with 54,894 and APC was credited with 52,243.

Adeyeye prayed the appellate court “to allow the appeal and set aside the declaration and return of Olujimi.”

READ ALSO: #BREAKING:Buhari Sacks 35 Aides In VP Osinbajo’s Office

The Senate spokesman urged the Court of Appeal to affirm his declaration and return by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as the winner of the senatorial poll held in the district on February 23.

While Adeyeye ran on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Olujimi, the immediate past Senate Minority Leader sought re-election on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).


(Visited 885 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Victor Akande

Victor Akande, a blogger by profession for the past 7 years. He studied Mathematics at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka Contact: +2348053316946 Twitter: @Newsflash2471

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

63 − = sixty

Back to top button