BREAKING: PDP jubilates as Appeal court sacks Reps Majority Leader

There is a wild jubilation in Kaduna State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP when they heard that the Appeal Court sitting in Kaduna has sacked the Majority Leader, Alhassan Ado Dogwa.

The lawmaker who represents Tunduwada/Dogwa federal constituency was removed by the court presided over by Justice Oludotun Adefope Okojie.

It was another day of ‘blow’ to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in the House of Representatives

The court ordered The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to conduct a fresh election in the two local governments where the election took place.

Meanwhile, Newsflash247 had earlier reported that Appeal court on Friday sacked the election Jibrin Abdulmumin, a House of Representative member representing Kiru/Bebeji federal constituency in Kano State.

Newsflash247 gathered that the decision followed the nullification of elections in two local government areas of Kiru/Bebeji Constituency. The appeal court ordered fresh elections in the constituency.

Abdulmumin of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) was declared winner of the February election with 41,700 votes, while Aliyu Yako of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 40,385.

It was gathered the judgement delivered by Adejoke Adepoju followed an observation by the court that the final result contained in Form EC (8)E as submitted for the constituency was mutilated.

In her ruling, Justice Ajoke Adepoju declared that the pronouncement of Independent National Electoral Commission on Jibrin, a member of the All Progressives Congress, stands nullity.

READ ALSO: LEAKED: Kogi Election: INEC REC Caught On Tape, Says Pressure Mounted On Him To Rig Dino Melaye Out

Justice Adepoju said the result declared by INEC was mutilated which however presumed that the actual result was a hearsay.

The judge subsequently ordered for fresh election in 60 days.

Aliyu Datti Yako of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) challenged the victory of Jibrin, a third term member of the of house of representatives.

The national assembly election petition tribunal led by Justice Nayai Aganaba on September 12, affirmed INEC declaration of Jibrin as winner of Bebeji/Kiru Federal constituency in the February 27, 2019 election.’

Justice Aganaba held that the petition filed by the PDP candidate failed to substantiate allegation of multiple voting and violence among claims leveled against INEC, APC and Jibrin.

READ ALSO: Ghana Traders Locks Up Nigerians’ Shops In Kumasi

Mr Jibrin, a member of the All Progressives Congress, was declared the winner of the election by the electoral commission, INEC.

The Kano State election petition tribunal had in September dismissed a petition by Mr Jibrin’s contender, Aliyu Datti of the Peoples Democratic Party. That ruling has now been nullified by the appeal court decision.

Newsflash247 also reported that the Appeal Court sitting in Sokoto on Wednesday, October 30, sacked the All Progressives Congress, APC Senator representing Sokoto South, Abubakar Tambuwal and APC Member representing Bodinga/Dange Shuni/Tureta Federal Constituency, Aliyu Shehu and returned the Peoples Democratic Party,PDP, Candidate Ibrahim Danbaba and Balarabe Kakale as Senator and House of Representative member in the National Assembly, respectively

The PDP candidates had filed the appeals against the judgment of the Election Petitions Tribunal which had upheld the elections of Senator Tambuwal and House of Representatives member Aliyu Shehu
Delivering the judgement Wednesday the judge Federich Oho, said Danbaba and Kakale’s appeals succeeded.

In a short judgement read by Justice Frederick Oho, the court said that the appeal filed by Messrs Danbaba and Kakale, both candidates of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) during 2019 election, have succeeded and details on the judgement will be given later.

Mr Oho set aside the judgements delivered by Sokoto State Election Petitions Tribunal which dismissed the appellants’ petitions in favour of the respondents who are All Progressive Congress (APC) candidates.

The APC candidates that were declared winners of the elections and are occupying the seats at present are Abubakar Shehu-Tambuwal for Sokoto South Senatorial District and Aliyu Shehu, representing Bodinga/Dange-Shuni/Tureta Federal Constituency.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) recalled that the Appeal Court had on Tuesday also ordered a fresh election in Sokoto North/Sokoto South Federal Constituency of Sokoto State.

The court ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to conduct the election within 90 days.

READ ALSO: Gunmen kidnap Appeal Court judge, kill police orderly

The case was filed by Abubakar Abdullahi, candidate of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) against the election of incumbent House of Representatives member, Bala Hassan of APC.

Source: Newsflash247

(Visited 1,698 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Abdullahi Hammed

Abdullahi Hammed was born in Kano State, Nigeria. A journalist by profession for the past five years. He Studied Mass Communication at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State. Contact: [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eighty four ÷ twelve =

Back to top button