Bayelsa Guber: APC Disqualifies Cross River ex-REC, Clears Lokpobiri, Others

The Governorship Primary Election Screening Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Bayelsa State has disqualified former Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) in Cross Rivers State, Dr. Frankland Briyai, for not being as card-carrying member in the past one year.

It, however, cleared former Minister of State for Agriculture, Heineken Lokpobiri, Preye Aganaba, Ebitimi Angbare, Diseye Poweigha, Lyon David and Prof. Ongoebi Etebu.

The committee, headed by Isa Song and Secretary, Clement Chinaka, in its address to the National Secretary of APC, stated that only Briyai was not cleared after a thorough exercise in Yenagoa last Saturday.

The report also stated that aspirants’ original credentials must be sighted and aspirants with multiple declarations of age must harmonise same to avoid untoward situation.

Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said it had concluded plans to distribute over 49, 000 Permanent Voters Cards (PVCs) in order not to disfranchise persons from voting in the Bayelsa gubernatorial poll.

INEC’s Resident Electoral Commission (REC) in Bayelsa, Monday Udoh, disclosed this in Yenagoa yesterday during a stakeholders’ forum on modalities for collection of the facilities.

Udoh, who was represented by INEC’s Executive Secretary in the state, Boco Ekong, said the distribution would commence on September 2 in Yenagoa and all local government areas

(Visited 34 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Emmanuel Ozaji

Emmanuel Ozaji, a native of Benin, Edo State. He studied the English Language at the University of Benin, Edo State. He is a Blogger Contact: [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixty six ÷ 66 =

Back to top button