9th Assembly: 61 senators endorsed Lawan for Senate President

A total of 61 senators have so far endorsed Sen Ahmad Lawan as the Senate President for the incoming 9th Assembly.

Out of the 61 senators, 60 are of the ruling APC, while one is of the Young Progressives Party (YPP), Ifeanyi Ubah.

At a press briefing in Abuja on Saturday, the secretary of the Lawan Campaign Council, Sen Jibrin Barau from Kano State, said only two of the APC Senators have not signed so far.

Though he did not mention the names, checks by our correspondent revealed that those that did not sign for Lawan are Sen Mohammed Ali Ndume, who is also a contender for the position, and Mohammed Ibrahim Bomai, who is said to be a close ally of Ndume.

Speaking at the occasion, Lawan said majority of PDP senators-elect were with him but that it was strategic not to mention their names.

“In the PDP, I can assure you that we have between 35 and 38 senators-elect supporting us,” he said.

(Visited 125 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Sade Adewale

Sade Adewale is an experienced editor. She Studied Sociology at the Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti. Diploma in Journalism in Lateef Jakande House, Ogba, Ikeja, Lagos State. Contact: [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × six =

Back to top button