Ekiti Abandoned projects

Fayemi Commences 37 Projects Abandoned In Ekiti By Fayose

Ekiti State Government has commenced 37 projects under Grants-in-Aid
Programme initiated by Governor Kayode Fayemi during his first tenure but abandoned by his successor.

The projects include extension of electricity, construction of community halls, construction of culverts and construction of market stalls. Other ongoing projects in the scheme are construction of boreholes, police posts, museum, blocks of classroom and drainages.

Speaking while monitoring the projects, the State Commissioner for Local Government and Community Development, Prof. Adio Folayan,
reiterated the commitment of the Fayemi-led administration to ensuring
the completion of the projects to improve the the welfare of the Ekiti

Prof. Folayan recalled that Governor Fayemi started 177 projects and
completed 87 of them under the scheme during his first term, adding that unfortunately his successor abandoned the laudable scheme.

READ ALSO: 9th Assembly: Appeal Court Sacks Ekiti Reps

The Commissioner said that the ongoing 37 projects were being executed under the Ekiti State Community and Social Development Agency (EKCDA) and the World Bank Scheme in collaboration with the State Government.

He charged the benefitting Communities to justify the huge investment toward improving their lot by supporting the effort of government to develop the state.

Prof. Folayan who also advised them to maintain and jealously guard the projects promised more of the State Government’s dividend of democracy in communities across the state.

Responding on behalf of the other communities, one of the community
leaders at Eda-Ile, Mr. Adekunle Jejelowo who commended Governor Fayemi for revisiting those projects as he promised during his electoral campaign said the communities will monitor the projects.

READ ALSO:  PHOTOS: Fayose Dressed As An Emir To PDP Governors Meeting In Gombe

He thanked him and prayed for his successful tenure in office. Some of these projects include Extension of Electricity at Omuo-Ekiti, Drainage and Culvert Cinstruction at Awajin, in Ado-Ekiti, Market Stalls in Esunmo Community, and Borehole Projects at Igbogun Bolorunduro Community.

Others are Civic Centre at Orun-Ekiti, a Block of Three Classrooms each at Ejiyan-Ekiti and Ikunri-Ekiti in Ijero and Ikole Local Government Areas respectivdely, among others.

Other benefitting communities are Kota in Ekiti East Local Government, Ara in Ijero Local Government, Erekesan Community in Efon Local Government Area, Temidire in Ise/Orun Local Government Area, Kajola in Ikere Local Government Area, Iro-Ayeteju in Gbonyin Local Government Area among others.

(Visited 109 times, 1 visits today)
Download the latest version of Newsflash247 Android App.

Leave a Reply